Cosmogramma by Flying Lotus – The G Review

Posted by The G on April 8, 2010 under G Reviews | 2 Comments to Read

Photo by G.

Flying Lotus - Cosmogramma.

Superstar DJ Flying Lotus’ latest record “Cosmogramma” is set to be released on May 4, 2010.  I have been lucky enough to receive a copy a full month before the CD is officially released, so I’d like to give you my thoughts.

Most of the songs on the record are in the one to two minute range and fuse the realms of thumping beats with spacey electronica that is sure to take your mind on a trip.  The songs are mixed in a continuous sequence that speeds up and slows down to give you time to catch your breath before the next movement.  A standout track on the album is “Do The Astral Plane” that has some jazzy elements and scatting in it mixed with luscious tribal beats.  “Table Tennis,” featuring Laura Darlington, samples the sounds of ping-pong balls being hit back and forth as Laura Darlington’s ethereal vocals play in the background.  The track that will make this release the most sought after is the Thom Yorke (from Radiohead) collaboration “…And The World Laughs With You.”  The track clocks in at 5 minutes and 27 seconds (which is delicious); however, Thom doesn’t make his first vocal appearance until the 2 minute and 45 second mark.  Once he finally emerges, his unmistakable vocals make the phrases “I need to know you’re out there / I need to know you’re listening” sound like heaven.  His trademark whispered vocals over him harmonizing with himself are also ever present, making this the standout track on the record.  I don’t really think “Cosmogramma” captures the essence of FlyLo’s on stage presence, but still the record will definitely become a late night staple, according2g.

The tracklist for Cosmogramma is:

01 Clock Catcher
02 Pickled!
03 Nose Art
04 Intro//A Cosmic Drama
05 Zodiac Shit
06 Computer Face//Pure Being
07 And the World Laughs With You [ft. Thom Yorke]
08 Arkestry
09 Mmmhmm [ft.Thundercat]
10 Do the Astral Plane
11 Satelllliiiiiteee
12 German Haircut
13 Recoiled
14 Dance Of the Pseudo Nymph
15 Drips//Auntie’s Harp
16 Table Tennis [ft. Laura Darlington]
17 Galaxy in Janaki

And as a bonus, if you click here (while supplies last), you can download a free 40 minute megamix dedicated to Flying Lotus’ 10 years in the business mixed by The Gaslamp Killer.  Enjoy!

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
  • Mr Mister said,

    I think you mean “The Gaslamp Killer”.

  • The G said,

    Yes! Thanks for that 🙂