Liam Fray of The Courteeners Performs an Acoustic Set In NYC

Posted by The G on January 21, 2011 under G Reviews | 6 Comments to Read

Photos by G.

Liam Fray

Liam Fray

Liam Fray of The Courteeners made a very rare live appearance in New York on January 20, 2011 at Pianos.  To make the night extra special, he performed an entire set acoustically!  I haven’t seen the Courteeners live since they opened for Morrissey in 2009, so this night was long overdue.  Taking the stage around 11:15 pm, Liam Fray told the crowd how happy he was to be back in New York and the audience returned the love.  The 11 song set included “Fallowfield Hillbilly,” “Not Nineteen Forever,” and “Bide Your Time.”  He also played 2 new songs.  During the new track “Winter Wonderland,” a drunken audience member started making a lot of noise that was not concert related and Liam started inserting lyrics into the song such as “The exit sign behind you is in red.”  Pretty funny.  He remarked after the song that the people that paid the $8 cover charge were here to get their money’s worth so he asked the drunken audience member to “fuck right off if they didn’t come for the music.”  Amen!  A video of “Winter Wonderland” will be coming soon.  Please be patient. Spotted in the crowd were Pablo Cubarle from Contramano as well as the band We Are Scientists.  I was lucky enough to meet Liam Fray before the show and he was super cool.  A photo from that encounter will also be coming soon.  After witnessing this great set, I can only hope that we get to see a lot more of Liam Fray and the Courteeners in New York!

Liam Fray

Liam Fray

See the setlist after the jump.

Read more of this article »

The Courteeners News!

Posted by The G on November 6, 2010 under GNN | Comments are off for this article

Photo by G.

Liam Fray of The Courteeners

Good news for fans of Manchester’s The Courteeners!  The band is releasing a new EP on December 5, 2010 called “Electric Lick.”  The EP will feature a cover of Yeah Yeah Yeahs’ “Zero” as well as two new songs “Swear Down” and “Three Months.”  The other 2 tracks will be “Scratch My Name Across Your Lips” and “Lullaby,” which were released on the band’s 2nd album “Falcon” which came out earlier this year.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...