An Encounter with Damon Albarn (of Blur and Gorillaz)

Posted by The G on September 18, 2012 under Encounters with G | Read the First Comment

Photos by G.

Damon Albarn and Geoffrey Dicker

Damon Albarn and Geoffrey Dicker

You gotta love New York.  One minute, you are on the Upper West Side, the next minute you find out Damon Albarn of Blur and Gorillaz is going to be  way the hell across town within a matter of minutes.  Always up for a challenge, I made a quick pit stop at my apartment to pick up some cds and  hustled my arse down to SoHo.  Of course to add a little excitement to the mix, a tornado warning had just been issued for Manhattan.  Undaunted, I got down to SoHo as quickly as I could and made it with seconds to spare.  Damon was very nice and in addition to taking a photo with me, he also signed 2 Blur and 2 Gorillaz cd covers for me.  Now I just need to get Banksy to sign “Think Tank” and I’ll be all set.  Thanks again Damon.  It was a real pleasure and a very unexpected early birthday surprise to meet you!  P.S.  A little bit after this photo was taken, the skies opened up and we faced torrential rain storms, but I made it home and dry.

Damon Albarn Signatures

Damon Albarn Signatures

Download New Gorillaz Live Album for Free!

Posted by The G on January 6, 2011 under GNN | Read the First Comment

Photo by G.

Damon Albarn of Gorillaz

I can’t imagine this is going to last long.  Gorillaz have released a new double disc live album online.  The first disc is live and the second disc is youtube and bootleg versions of some of the best loved songs by Gorillaz.  Grab it for free while supplies last!  Here’s a link to the source info and here’s the direct download link.  Again, by the time you click, this offer might have expired, so get to downloading!

Here’s the track list for Plastic Beach live:

Disc 1
01. Orchestral Intro
02. Welcome to the World of the Plastic Beach (feat. the Hypnotic Brass Ensemble)
03. White Flag (feat. Kano, Bashy and the Syrian National Orchestra For Arabic Music)
04. Rhinestone Eyes
05. Stylo (feat. Mos Def and Bobby Womack)
06. Superfast Jellyfish (feat. De La Soul and Gruff Rhys)
07. Empire Ants (feat. Little Dragon)
08. Glitter Freeze (feat. Mark E. Smith)
09. Some Kind of Nature (feat. Lou Reed)
10. On Melancholy Hill
11. Broken (feat. the Hypnotic Brass Ensemble)
12. Sweepstakes (feat. Mos Def and the Hypnotic Brass Ensemble)
13. Plastic Beach (feat. the Hypnotic Brass Ensemble)
14. To Binge (feat. Little Dragon)
15. Cloud of Unknowing (feat. Bobby Womack)
16. Pirate Jet

Disc 2
01. Last Living Souls
02. Kids With Guns (feat. Neneh Cherry)
03. O Green World
04. 19/2000 (feat. Miho Hatori)
05. Tomorrow Comes Today
06. DARE (feat. Roses Gabor and Shaun Ryder)
07. Dirty Harry (feat. Bootie Brown)
08. El Manana
09. November Has Come (feat. MF Doom)
10. Doncamatic (feat. Daley)
11. Punk
12. Fire Coming Out Of The Monkeys Head
13. Don’t Get Lost In Heaven
14. Demon Days (feat. Bobby Womack)
15. Hong Kong (feat. Zeng Zhen)
16. Feel Good Inc (feat. De La Soul)
17. Clint Eastwood (feat. Kano and Bashy)
18. Clint Eastwood (feat. Snoop Dogg) (Bonus track)
19. Clint Eastwood (feat. Eslam Jawaad) (Bonus track)
20. Clint Eastwood (feat. Tinie Tempah) (Bonus track)

Gorillaz Free X-mas Present

Posted by The G on December 21, 2010 under GNN | Comments are off for this article

Photo by G.



The best things in life are free, according2G(orillaz).  Gorillaz mastermind Damon Albarn recently completed work on the Ipad created album “The Fall.”  On Christmas Day, Gorillaz fan club members will get to download the 15 track album for free.  The album will see a physical release for those of us slummin’ it, in 2011.

The track list is:

  1. Phoner To Arizona
  2. Revolving Doors
  3. HillBilly Man
  4. Detroit
  5. Shy-town
  6. Little Pink Plastic Bags
  7. The Joplin Spider
  8. The Parish of Space Dust
  9. The Snake In Dallas
  10. Amarillo
  11. The Speak It Mountains
  12. Aspen Forest
  13. Bobby In Phoenix
  14. California And The Slipping Of The Sun
  15. Seattle Yodel

“Stylo” live by Gorillaz

Posted by The G on October 9, 2010 under G Videos | 2 Comments to Read

HD Video by G.

On October 8, 2010, Gorillaz rocked Madison Square Garden in New York.  For their hit single “Stylo,” the band recruited Bobby Womack and Mos Def to join them onstage for an awesome live rendition.  It looked and sounded exactly like this…

Gorillaz live at Madison Square Garden

Posted by The G on October 8, 2010 under G Reviews | 7 Comments to Read

Photos by G.


On October 8, 2010, the cartoonish electro-rock band Gorillaz played a sold out show at New York’s Madison Square Garden.  The lineup for Gorillaz was a super group that included Damon Albarn (of Blur), Mick Jones and Paul Simonon (of the Clash) and featured guest vocalists Mos Def, Bobby Womack, Lou Reed and members of De La Soul.  I was expecting the band to play behind a curtain while cartoon incarnations of the band entertained the crowd.  I was half right.  Our cartoon friends 2D, Murdoch, Noodle and Russell Hobbs were up on the screen for most of the night, but the band sans curtain was also present the entire night.

Mick Jones and Damon Albarn

The show began at 8 pm with a very underwhelming set by N*E*R*D.  I don’t really get off by watching a bunch of people shout out “make some noise” well over 30 times in as many minutes.  I can’t say I was moved though I was open to having the experience of seeing them live.  For all the hype this band gets, I didn’t think their beats were particularly fat, I didn’t think the vocals were unique enough to make me want to ever seek out their studio work and I was really surprised that Pharrell Williams is such an “it” producer, when I heard much more SH than IT. I did like the trippy light display they used, so I tried really hard to focus on that and tune out their music.  But that’s just me.


See more pictures of Gorillaz including a more than partial set list.

Read more of this article »

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...