Details of U2’s “Achtung Baby” Box Set

Posted by The G on August 5, 2011 under GNN | 2 Comments to Read

Photo by G.



In case you missed this great news, here’s some details on what will be included in U2’s deluxe reissue of their best album, “Achtung Baby”:

An Uber Deluxe Edition will be the most elaborate (and expensive) version of the set, will include all of the following in a numbered magnetic puzzle-tiled box:

• Six CDs including Achtung Baby and its 1993 follow up Zooropa, plus discs featuring B sides, outtakes and reworked versions of unheard material from the Achtung sessions

• Four DVDs including ZOO TV: Live From Sydney, the new documentary From the Sky Down and all of the music videos from the period

• Five clear 7-inch singles in replicas of their original packaging

• 16 art prints from the original album sleeve

• 84-page hardback book

• One issue of Propaganda fanclub magazine

• Four badges

• One sticker sheet

• One replica of Bono’s “The Fly” sunglasses

Achtung Baby will also be reissued as a vinyl box set featuring the album along with two translucent blue vinyl disc featuring B sides and remixes and a double-disc CD with a bonus disc of B sides and rarities.  A remastered version without extras will also be released.

The final tracklists or release dates have not been released yet either, so it’ll be curious to compare those against a bootleg that has circulated for nearly 2 decades in perfect quality.  That track list is:

01 – Salome (5:47)
02 – Where Did it All Go Wrong? (3:58)
03 – Where Did it All Go Wrong? (3:40)
04 – Heaven and Hell (6:44)
05 – Doctor Doctor (2:36)
06 – Jitterbug Baby (3:56)
07 – Salome (9:15)
08 – Salome (5:34)
09 – Sunset In Colors/Chances Away (14:53)
10 – Chances Away (1:41)
11 – I Feel Free (6:32)
12 – I Feel Free (4:31)

13 – Sweet Baby Jane (2:04)
14 – Morning Child/Dont Turn Around (5:32)
15 – Morning Child/Dont Turn Around (4:01)
16 – Morning Child/Dont Turn Around (5:07)
17 – Take Today (instrumental) (6:28)
18 – Even Better Than The Real… (4:50)
19 – She’s Gonna Turn Your Head… (7:41)
20 – She’s Gonna Turn Your Head… (7:38)
21 – Back Mask U2 (5:32)
22 – She’s Gonna Turn Your Head… (7:36)
23 – Take Today (vocals) (6:31)

24 – Someone (1:07)
25 – Back Mask U2 (3:11)
26 – Acrobat (4:17)
27 – Salome (5:51)
28 – Morning Child/Dont Turn Around (5:07)
29 – Take You Down (5:18)
30 – Going Down South (5:34)
31 – Salome (3:51)
32 – Salome (13:06)
33 – Salome (6:00)
34 – Salome (8:00)
35 – Salome (12:02)

Ringo Starr’s Gold Drum

Posted by The G on May 22, 2011 under Artsy Fartsy | Read the First Comment

Photos by G.

Ringo Starr's Gold Drum

Ringo Starr's Gold Drum

New York Beatles fans will want to head over to the Metropolitan Museum of Art before June 30, 2011 to see a very rare artifact from the Fab Four.  Taken from Ringo Starr’s personal collection, the Met is displaying a gold drum that was presented to Ringo by the Ludwig Drum Company in 1964.  When The Beatles appeared on The Ed Sullivan Show, Ringo was such a fan of Ludwig Drums, he insisted that the brand name be shown on camera.  Sales of Ludwig drums went through the roof after the Beatles appearance on the Ed Sullivan Show and as a thank you, the Ludwig Drum Company made and presented Ringo Starr with a drum made out of gold.

Ringo and The Beatles with the gold drum.

The drum is on display at The Met (located at 1000 5th Avenue in New York) through June 30, 2011.  The golden drum is located in the Andre Mertens Galleries for Musical Instruments.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...